Meeting Minutes February 27, 2018

The meeting was called to order by president, Scott Woogen at 7:00 p.m.

Those present by phone were: Scott Woogen, Gregg Trotto, Amanda Jackson, Anne MacDonald, Betsy Brown, Terry Kiebler, Tyler Shehan, Alvin Lineweaver, Debbie Warnick, Mike Pearson and Jeb Hannen

Item 1. Racing secretary for the 2018 Shenandoah Downs meet

There have been three applicants for the race secretary position. The applicants are Scott Warren, Craig Andow and Dee Lineweaver. After much discussion, it was voted six to two to recommend to the VEA that Dee Lineweaver be offered the position.

Item 2. Meeting at Shenandoah Downs

Jeb reminded everyone about the planning meeting at Shenandoah Downs on Saturday, March 3rd at 12:00 pm. Everyone is invited and lunch will be provided.

Item 3. House Bill 1609

Jeb reported that House Bill 1609 has progressed to the committee stage in the senate. There was an amendment added to it today, which if it is not stripped, could delay the vote until next year. This could cause problems for the potential sale of Colonial Downs. The senate will be voting on Wednesday.

Jeb Hannon and Mike Pearson left the meeting.

Item 3. Revised by laws

Everyone has received a copy of the proposed revised by laws. There is some confusion as to what has been added or changed. Debbie was asked to mark up the revised by laws showing what was added or changed. This will be sent out to everyone for review and then discussed and voted on at the next meeting.

Item 4. 2018 Early Closers Rules

The revised 2018 Early Closers rules were gone over line by line. It was voted four to two that elimination and/or prep races must be raced in order to participate in the final. Other changes and additions were made. It was agreed to ask Ken Weckstein to review them for legal changes that should be made. It was then voted unanimously that once Ken has reviewed them, the Early Closers rules can be published.

Item 5. Treasurer’s Report

The previous lack of a treasurer’s report was discussed. It was agreed that regular treasurer’s reports will be compiled and presented to the board members.

As there was no further business to be discussed, Scott Woogen adjourned the meeting at 9:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie Warnick

Executive Director

Contact VHHA:

c/o Debbie Warnick
P.O. Box 1603
Saluda Virginia 23149

Phone: 443-463-0917

E-mail Address: info@vhha.net

Fax: 804-655-6161

VHHA Payment Schedule

Membership Due

January 2020 $30.00

Stallion Registration Due

January 1, 2020 $100.00

Nominations Due

March 15, 2020 for 2&3 Year olds


Sustaining Payments due

May 15, 2020 for 2&3 Year olds


Yearlings of 2019 due

May 15, 2020 $25.00


Helpful Links

Virginia Harness Horse Association was established to Sustain, Promote, and Grow both the Breeding 
and Racing opportunities for Standaredbred Horses in the Commonwealth of Virginia